Phenomenal Women

I come from a long line of formidable women, ladies with hearts of gold and spines of steel. Some of my ancestors—many generations back—were not only influential with their families but also commanded societal respect. Leaders and visionaries, these women were forged of a “stronger stuff” than many females of their eras.

More recent female family members have also possessed this deep strength tempered by an infinite grace. Although their actions and decisions affected fewer people than some of our forebearers, their example and perspectives have greatly impacted and influenced me. Despite the fact that a decade or more has passed since these inspirational women have died, they still guide me. Not even death can diminish their presence.

The first of these phenomenal women was my great-grandmother, Leona Lucinda (Thomas) Taylor. My love for lineage was learned at her knee. A keeper of hearth and home, Great-Grandma Taylor was a culinary creator and a gardening guru. Her home always smelled like cinnamon, and her gardens were enchanted. The hours spent at my great-grandma’s house seem to pass too quickly, and I would eagerly anticipate the next Sunday visit, when I would savor snickerdoodles and forage amongst the flowers for fairies.

Another matriarch of our family who significantly impacted me was another great-grandmother, Myrtle (Marriner) Cole Marcheret. She was the daughter of Hannah (Layton) Marriner James (whom I never had the privilege to meet). Hannah raised her four girls to live their lives with grace and grit. These women embraced life wholeheartedly, extracting joy and meaning from every moment.

Hannah’s eldest daughter, Thelma (Marriner) Darby, was the family historian. Thankfully, she valued every photo and every document, filing these bits of family history in boxes and bins—a genealogical pack rat. Without her diligence, I would never have been able to trace my maternal line back so many generations.

Hannah’s second daughter, Gertrude (Marriner) McCollum Chappelle, was only a face in a photo for me, as she and her family lived in California. Although I heard many stories about her, my memories of her are vicarious. She is remembered by others as a joyful, giving woman.

Hannah’s youngest daughter, Belva Marriner, was an absolute hoot: a “live life like you mean it” type of gal. She always had a quirky smile and a slightly skewed perspective on life. She made everyone happier just being around her.

My great-grandmother, Myrtle, Hannah’s third-born child, was humorous and humble. She taught me to dance without music and to laugh at myself. My great-grandmother raised three amazing daughters. Again, that indelible spirit was passed down through the generations to these three distinguished ladies… exceptional women all.

Myrtle’s middle daughter, Florence Jean (Cole) Watts Brown, was my grandmother. She had a wicked wit, endless enthusiasm, and constant compassion. Despite heartbreak and hardships, she endured and flourished, raising her four children with love and laughter. I would like to think that my grandmother passed onto me just a bit of her vivacious spirit, although I am certain her sense of style completely bypassed me. A woman who loved her bling, slings, bingo, Seabreezes, and Miami Dolphins, I hear her humor in my children’s voices and see her sparkle in their eyes.

To these women, I say, “Thank you.” May my choices and actions do you credit and bring only honor to your memories. I love you all!

…Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing,
It ought to make you proud…
’Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.
Categories: Cole-Marriner Line, Everyday People, Taylor-Thomas Line | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Phenomenal Women

  1. Anonymous

    I know they would be proud of you and your accomplishments.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Amazing Ancestors

Portraits and profiles of my family

And the Tenth Time

"Nine times out of ten... But what about the tenth time?"

The Women Who Made Me

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Before Now

The Past is History

Amanda Bradburn

Website of Author and Editor Amanda Bradburn

Daze & Weekes

I'm just a colourful Renaissance woman/human box of wine here to enlighten (and amuse) you.

Today in History

"Tell me a fact, and I'll learn. Tell me a truth, and I'll believe. But tell me a story, and it will live in my heart forever." - Steve Sabol, NFL Films

Miner Descent

Tracing each branch back to their arrival in America

Scoundrels + Saints

Genealogy Gets Real: Stories of the Good, the Bad & Everyone Else

Dusty Roots & Forgotten Treasures

Researching, Preserving, and Sharing Genealogical Information For Future Generations

Tales of a Family

Finding my Way Home

Lives Our Ancestors Left Behind

What were their stories for us?

Lineage Hunter

Exploring Multiple Family Lines

About Those Ancestors

They can hide, but they can't run!

Generations of Nomads

On the Trail of Family Faces, Places, and Stories Around the World

axehandles

how we go on...

GraveSeeker's Diary

“I am the now of the then. My body is the embodiment of all my ancestors who came before me. They live on in me.” ― Jarod Kintz.

Descended from Royalty

Life is lived forward, but understood backward

Filling in the Family Tree

Hopper, Hedrick, Cowan, Hinson, Gray, Hickman, Reece, Perkins and more

Rael & Fernandez Family History

Recording and sharing my journey learning about my ancestors

familytreegirldotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Redeeming Thread

My crazy life adventures that always seem to have one redeeming thread.

Forgotten Ancestors

Tracing The Faces

My Ducks in a Row

using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com to organize your family history

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

Tracking Down The Family

Family History and Genealogy

Shaking the Family Tree

Let the nuts fall where they may.

Quiet Echoes In Time

Thinking Today About Countless Yesterdays

PastToPresentGenealogy

Family History Research by Jane Roberts

The Family Stump

The branches, leaves and stumps of our family tree

A Wise Heart's Journey

Finding ancestors one step at a time.

Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia... go figure

The Lives of my Ancestors

Lives, Biographies and Sketches of my Family History

