Genealogical Guffaw

Some of my family members and friends just don’t comprehend my fascination with genealogy. I am pretty sure a few are convinced that I am just plain boring, while others call me cuckoo. Others label my passion as an out-and-out obsession. (Okay, that might be closer to the truth, but hey, I don’t jump all over y’all when you wax poetic about sports statistics or go gaga over geegaws, now do I? Geez!)

When I start telling some people a family story or revealing a “new” discovery, their eyes just glaze over. Seriously, I gotta prod them once in a while to see if they are still breathing. (Obviously, genealogy bores them to death!)

Okay, I get it. Genealogy is not for everyone. Some people would rather have a tooth extracted by a Wild West barber than listen to family history. OUCH!

For example, not long ago, I was relaying a funny family finding with a relative (whose name has been withheld to protect her identity and my posterior.) I giggled as I told the humorous parts, whereas she acted as if her funny bone had been extracted. No smile, no smirk…zip, zero, zilch… Perhaps she had a Botox treatment, considering how frozen her face was. Fine, have it your way… So nothing our former family members have done or said or thought has been the least bit interesting? You believe our ancestors existed without living? Are you sure they were even human?

For those of you who contend that there is nothing remotely amusing about genealogy, I would beg to differ. (Of course, I have a blog dedicated to dead kin, so I might be an itsy-bitsy biased. Just a smidgen, I swear!) Anyways, here goes:

One day, a little girl asked her mother, “How did the human race appear?” Her mother answered, “God made Adam and Eve. They had children. From them, all of humanity was made.” Two days later, the girl asked her father the same question, to which her father replied, “Many years ago, the human race evolved from apes.” Confused, the little girl returned to her mother and said, “Mom, why did you tell me that people were created by God, and Dad said they descended from apes?” Her mother smiled before responding, “Well, dear, it is very simple. I told you about my side of the family, and your father told you about his.”

“I don’t care who ya are: That’s funny right there!”

Oh man, I think I just got unfriended! Okay, before I lose any more family or friends, here is my disclaimer: “In no way is the author contending that her spouse’s family is non-human, so no hate mail and no divorce decries, please.” (Although, you gotta admit, at times, my kids do swing from the rafters like orangutans, so…. Oh crap, another relative just unfriended me.) Guess I better wrap this up before I am blackballed from family reunions…

Our families have our share of thoroughly human kindred connections; some were saints and some were scoundrels. Stay tuned, as I reveal more of the good and the bad and the funny of our family tree….

 

#ancestry     #familytree     #genealogy

Categories: Miscellaneous Musings | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Genealogical Guffaw

  1. I just received this message from my mother-in-law. (So, I guess that means I am still welcomed to family functions, huh?) 😉

    “I just had to respond to your post about our family tree. My father would be so proud of what you are doing. I’m so happy you are continuing with the family tree….Keep up the good work.”

    Thanks, Mom!

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Scoundrels + Saints

Genealogy Gets Real: Stories of the Good, the Bad & Everyone Else

Dusty Roots & Forgotten Treasures

Researching, Preserving, and Sharing Genealogical Information For Future Generations

Under These Restless Skies

“There are two lasting bequests we can give our children: One is roots, the other is wings.” Teaching children values and giving them the opportunity to excel are essential to good parenting. However, I feel I must also provide my children (and myself) insight into the ones who came before us: our ancestors whose lives and stories have shaped us into who we are. This is my journey; these are their stories…

Tales of a Family

Finding my Way Home

Lives Our Ancestors Left Behind

What were their stories for us?

Lineage Hunter

Exploring Multiple Family Lines

Shaking Family Trees

“There are two lasting bequests we can give our children: One is roots, the other is wings.” Teaching children values and giving them the opportunity to excel are essential to good parenting. However, I feel I must also provide my children (and myself) insight into the ones who came before us: our ancestors whose lives and stories have shaped us into who we are. This is my journey; these are their stories…

About Those Ancestors

They can hide, but they can't run!

Generations of Nomads

On the Trail of Family Faces, Places, and Stories Around the World

Melstery

The Mel. The mayhem. The mystery. (If it involves swiped caramel, that was me. Sorry.)

axehandles

how we go on...

GraveSeeker's Diary

“I am the now of the then. My body is the embodiment of all my ancestors who came before me. They live on in me.” ― Jarod Kintz.

Descended from Royalty

Life is lived forward, but understood backward

Filling in the Family Tree

Hopper, Hedrick, Cowan, Hinson, Gray, Hickman, Reece, Perkins and more

Rael & Fernandez Family History

Recording and sharing my journey learning about my ancestors

Family Connections

My ancestors & their place in history

familytreegirldotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Redeeming Thread

My Crazy Life Adventures that always seem to have one redeeming thread.

Forgotten Ancestors

Tracing The Faces

My Ducks in a Row

using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com to organize your family history

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

The Genealogist's Craft

My aim is to tell interesting stories of how genealogical information comes to be. Please pull up an armchair ...

Tracking Down The Family

Family History and Genealogy

The Handwritten Past

Thoughts on Family History and Genealogy

TWISTED LIMBS & CROOKED BRANCHES

Genealogy: Looking For "Dead People"!

Shaking the Family Tree

Let the nuts fall where they may.

Quiet Echoes In Time

Thinking Today About Countless Yesterdays

Scottish Heart

Ancestral Memory Runs Through Scottish Bloodlines

PastToPresentGenealogy

Family History Research by Jane Roberts

Expressing my family history

and other random thoughts...

The Family Stump

The branches, leaves and stumps of our family tree

A Wise Heart's Journey

Finding ancestors one step at a time.

Campbell Genealogy Notes

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia... go figure

The Lives of my Ancestors

Lives, Biographies and Sketches of my Family History

