Mediocre Mom

I have a confession to make. I am a mediocre mother. (There…I said it. The truth is out.) No, please don’t try to assure me that I am a stellar parent, worthy of accolades. I am not.

For many years, I have naively believed that I would somehow morph into the supermom of lore⎯a woman one step from perfection. I struggled with my shortcomings, always lamenting that somehow I was just not good enough. As a long-standing overachiever, ordinary was, well, plain ordinary.

I wanted to be and do more for my kids than just average. However, midway through my children’s childhoods, I have been forced to accept that I am firmly entrenched somewhere between Worst Mother of the Year and Best Mom Ever (both titles which have been bestowed on me with frequency by my progeny.)

Maybe I am just tired of beating myself over the head… or maybe I am just plain tired. I am exhausted trying to “keep up with the Jones”, or the Smiths, or the Millers. Let’s face it: I am never going to help my kids create an interactive, fully-mechanized, prize-winning diorama in one evening. Hey, I am lucky if can build something with construction paper, toothpicks, and a gallon of glue. (And even that is pushing it!) Über-cute cookies of every shape and color imaginable, baked to pure perfection? Nope⎯not going to happen here, not in this lifetime. My kids are lucky to get the crumbs of store-bought baked goods.

I marvel at the mamas who saturate social media with their achievements, great and small. Seriously, who would have thought you could work full-time, volunteer in the community, schlep your ruggers to every activity imaginable, and still have the time and the energy to create a cupcake culinary masterpiece before bedtime? Amazing and truly intimidating these women are. My hat is off to anyone who can do this. How they do it⎯I haven’t a clue. Maybe they can “read in” us middle-of-the-road mommies? I like to be able to do-it-all without feeling all-done-in.

What is really disheartening, though, is that not only do many modern mothers put me to shame, it seems some of my own family’s matriarchs were tried and true maternal marvels. Seriously, either history has been really kind to these ladies or they did blaze trails, determine their own destinies, and inspire others, all while balancing babies on their hips, answering a million and one questions, reminding a child that siblings are not punching bags, begging that all creepy crawlies remain outside, and insuring that their offspring survived and thrived.

Don’t believe that such paragons could have been this mere mortal mommy’s matriarchs? (They are, and I have the source material to prove it.) Want to read more about these formidable females of yore? Stay tuned….

Middle of the road

#motherhood     #mediocremom     #notsupermom

Categories: Miscellaneous Musings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Mediocre Mom

  1. On Sunday, September 27, 2015 at 8:45 p.m., I received a message from my dear aunt in my inbox.

    Here is what she said about this post:


    I love this! You are the voice for many of us moms!

    I love how you convey things as they are and are not afraid to do that. And despite what you write, or may say about it, you are indeed a very good mom….

    Keep writing, and thanks again for all your ancestry work. I’m proud to be your aunt and wish I could see you more often.


    That is so touching… now you made me cry, Aunt V. Love you too!

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Amazing Ancestors

Portraits and profiles of my family

And the Tenth Time

"Nine times out of ten... But what about the tenth time?"

The Women Who Made Me

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Before Now

The Past is History

Amanda Bradburn

Website of Author and Editor Amanda Bradburn

Daze + Weekes

I'm just a colourful Renaissance woman/human box of wine here to enlighten (and amuse) you.

Today in History

"Tell me a fact, and I'll learn. Tell me a truth, and I'll believe. But tell me a story, and it will live in my heart forever." - Steve Sabol, NFL Films

Miner Descent

Tracing each branch back to their arrival in America

Scoundrels + Saints

Genealogy Gets Real: Stories of the Good, the Bad & Everyone Else

Dusty Roots & Forgotten Treasures

Researching, Preserving, and Sharing Genealogical Information For Future Generations

Tales of a Family

Finding my Way Home

Lives Our Ancestors Left Behind

What were their stories for us?

Lineage Hunter

Exploring Multiple Family Lines

About Those Ancestors

They can hide, but they can't run!

Generations of Nomads

On the Trail of Family Faces, Places, and Stories Around the World

axehandles

how we go on...

GraveSeeker's Diary

“I am the now of the then. My body is the embodiment of all my ancestors who came before me. They live on in me.” ― Jarod Kintz.

Descended from Royalty

Life is lived forward, but understood backward

Filling in the Family Tree

Hopper, Hedrick, Cowan, Hinson, Gray, Hickman, Reece, Perkins and more

Rael & Fernandez Family History

Recording and sharing my journey learning about my ancestors

familytreegirldotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Redeeming Thread

My crazy life adventures that always seem to have one redeeming thread.

Forgotten Ancestors

Tracing The Faces

My Ducks in a Row

using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com to organize your family history

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

Tracking Down The Family

Family History and Genealogy

Shaking the Family Tree

Let the nuts fall where they may.

Quiet Echoes In Time

Thinking Today About Countless Yesterdays

PastToPresentGenealogy

Family History Research by Jane Roberts

Expressing my family history

and other random thoughts...

The Family Stump

The branches, leaves and stumps of our family tree

A Wise Heart's Journey

Finding ancestors one step at a time.

Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia... go figure

