The Times, They Are A-Changin’

Family Bibles, photo albums, love letters, birth records, marriage licenses, muster papers, land deeds… Our families’ histories have left a long, long paper trail. Through the decades, I have diligently followed this trail, picking through crumbling parchment and thumbing through old tomes with relish. I believe that I have reveled in the process as much as in the discoveries. Perhaps, it is because this type of research has allowed me a hands-on connection to our past. For these brief moments, when I hold the very documents and photographs that those whom have preceded us have held, the boundaries of time dissipate. The veil is lifted.

Knowing how much I revel in tactile research, many of you might find my fascination with online genealogy anathema to my old-fashioned heart. Some have questioned my need to start a comprehensive online tree a decade ago, a family Facebook group a few years ago, and, more recently, a blog. One research acquaintance has even inferred that perhaps the internet has cheapened the genealogical process. (Yeah, right…)

Well, hold onto your bloomers, ladies and gentlemen, I have just crossed over to the dark side… or into the age of enlightenment… or right smack in the looney bin… (depending on whom you ask.) Our family tree now has… wait for it… a Pinterest profile.

“Great Scott, say it ain’t so!” scream the genealogical purists. “Nooo,” wail the OCD among us who just-can’t-stop-pinning-ever. “Hip! Hip! Hooray!”, shouts the rest of family. (Okay, maybe not, but one can dream, right?) No matter where you might stand, I hope y’all will enjoy the latest step in our genealogical quest. Oh yes, the times, they are a-changin’.

#familytree     #genealogy     #pinterest

Categories: Miscellaneous Musings | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Please share your thoughts...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Amazing Ancestors

Portraits and profiles of my family

And the Tenth Time

"Nine times out of ten... But what about the tenth time?"

The Women Who Made Me

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Before Now

The Past is History

Amanda Bradburn

Website of Author and Editor Amanda Bradburn

Daze + Weekes

I'm just a colourful Renaissance woman/human box of wine here to enlighten (and amuse) you.

Today in History

"Tell me a fact, and I'll learn. Tell me a truth, and I'll believe. But tell me a story, and it will live in my heart forever." - Steve Sabol, NFL Films

Miner Descent

Tracing each branch back to their arrival in America

Scoundrels + Saints

Genealogy Gets Real: Stories of the Good, the Bad & Everyone Else

Dusty Roots & Forgotten Treasures

Researching, Preserving, and Sharing Genealogical Information For Future Generations

Tales of a Family

Finding my Way Home

Lives Our Ancestors Left Behind

What were their stories for us?

Lineage Hunter

Exploring Multiple Family Lines

About Those Ancestors

They can hide, but they can't run!

Generations of Nomads

On the Trail of Family Faces, Places, and Stories Around the World

axehandles

how we go on...

GraveSeeker's Diary

“I am the now of the then. My body is the embodiment of all my ancestors who came before me. They live on in me.” ― Jarod Kintz.

Descended from Royalty

Life is lived forward, but understood backward

Filling in the Family Tree

Hopper, Hedrick, Cowan, Hinson, Gray, Hickman, Reece, Perkins and more

Rael & Fernandez Family History

Recording and sharing my journey learning about my ancestors

familytreegirldotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Redeeming Thread

My crazy life adventures that always seem to have one redeeming thread.

Forgotten Ancestors

Tracing The Faces

My Ducks in a Row

using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com to organize your family history

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

Tracking Down The Family

Family History and Genealogy

Shaking the Family Tree

Let the nuts fall where they may.

Quiet Echoes In Time

Thinking Today About Countless Yesterdays

PastToPresentGenealogy

Family History Research by Jane Roberts

Expressing my family history

and other random thoughts...

The Family Stump

The branches, leaves and stumps of our family tree

A Wise Heart's Journey

Finding ancestors one step at a time.

Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia... go figure

