Taylor-Thomas Immigrant Ancestors

taylor-thomas

We are a nation of immigrants. Most of us descend from others who came to this land whether by their own volition or against their will. With this in mind, I will be documenting all the known immigrant ancestors for both my family and my spouse’s family. This is first installment of this series.

***

Imagine my surprise when I started to search for the immigrant ancestors of my paternal grandfather, Carl Victor Taylor, Jr. (the TaylorThomas family). With the surname Taylor, it is guaranteed that he has at least a few (okay, more than a few) British ancestors. However, after much effort through the many English surnames from that side, I was unable to determine his English immigrants. As most British lines in America extend back to the founding of this country, it is understandable.

What did surprise me, however, was the sheer number of ancestors from his lineage (both his father’s and mother’s) who descend from Germany. Of course, there are a couple French, Swiss, and Dutch thrown in the mix—just to keep it interesting. Each of these ancestors migrated to Pennsylvania or Maryland, as part of the mass migration of Palatines to the New World.

Of my 32 paternal father’s 5th great-grandparents, the following are known immigrants: Conrad Trone, born about 1791 in Darmstadt, Hesse, Germany, and his wife Catherine (surname unknown), born about 1793 in Germany; Elizabeth Painter, born 21 Sep 1783 in Germany; and Mary Painter, born 1773 in Germany.

Of my 64 paternal father’s 6th great-grandparents, three are known immigrants: George Painter,  born in Germany (father of sisters Elizabeth and Mary Painter above; he is my 6th great-grandfather twice over); Susan Ragerose, born 28 Sep 1749 in Germany; and Hans Michael Thomas, Jr., born 3 Oct 1719 in Schifferstadt, Rhein-Pfalz-Kreis, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany (He is also my 7th great-grandfather on my paternal father’s line.)

Of my 128 paternal father’s 7th great-grandparents, eight are known immigrants (including Hans Michael Thomas, Jr. above): Hans Michael Thomas, Sr., born 3 Oct 1688 in Schifferstadt, Rhein-Pfalz-Kreis, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany, and his mother Anna Veronica Lang, born about 1690 in Schifferstadt, Rhein-Pfalz-Kreis, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany (They are also my 8th great-grandparents on one of my paternal father’s line.); Johannes Michael Rohrer, born 1 Nov 1701 in Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines, Alsace, France, and his wife Elizabeth Snavely, born in 1701 in the Netherlands; Hans Jacob Russell, 7th great-grandfather, born 16 Mar 1728 in Mettmenstetten, Zürich, Switzerland; and Peter Schlosser, born 20 Jan 1710 in Nassau-Saarbrücken, Germany, and his wife Maria Margaretha Waschenbach,  born Dec 1713 in Eichen, Altenkirchen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany

Of my 256 paternal father’s 8th great-grandparents, twelve are known immigrants (including Hans Micahel and Anna Thomas, listed above.): Franz Brossman, born 1693 in Waldangelloch, Rhein-Neckar-Kreis, Baden-Württemberg, Germany, and his wife Anna Clara Rudolph, born 11 Mar 1700 in Waldangelloch, Rhein-Neckar-Kreis, Baden-Württemberg, Germany; and Hans Hess, born 1 Jul 1683 in Rüti, Zürich, Switzerland, and his wife Magdelena (surname unknown), born 1688 in Rüti, Zürich, Switzerland; John Lein, born 2 Jul 1665 in Ruppertenrod, Vogelsbergkreis, Hessen, Germany, and his wife Elizabetha Rudi, born 18 Oct 1674 in Reihen, Sinsheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany; Johann Georg Poffenberger, born about 1691 in Ulmet, Kusel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany, and his wife Anna Martha Stupp, born 1695 in Ulmet, Kusel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany; and Peter Erb, born 1712 in Bern, Bern, Switzerland, and his wife Maria Lowis, born 1712 in Bern, Bern, Switzerland.

Finally, of my possible 512 paternal father’s 9th great-grandparents, three are known immigrants: Hans Erb, born 7 Apr 1678 in Bern, Bern, Switzerland, and his wife Barbara Moser, born 1 Apr 1682 in Bern, Bern, Switzerland, (parents of Peter Erb, listed above); and Henrich “Henry” Sellen,  born 17 Oct 1666 in Krefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany.

 

knittlerhinelandmap

#ancestry     #familytree     #genealogy     #immigrantancestors

Categories: Immigrant Ancestors, Taylor-Thomas Line | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Taylor-Thomas Immigrant Ancestors

  1. Seems that we’re related! I wonder what our Great Grandmother’s life was like…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome to my blog, cuz! Through which family member are we related?

    Like

    • We’re (very) long lost related through Anna Clara Rudolph. I come from a German-English family from Pine Grove, PA. My Great Grandfather was in the coal mining business. My family spreads into Maryland as due to the railroad service.

      I’ve been looking up all this info all day to find out that my Grandfather has documents that go very far back. I’d love to contrast with you! I’ve always cherished the fact that I can look back on the childhood of trying out my family member’s gear. I never even thought of this until today.

      Your blog is amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so glad that you like my blog!

    I am emailing you so that you and I can correspond about our shared lineage. Can’t wait to compare notes!

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Amazing Ancestors

Portraits and profiles of my family

And the Tenth Time

"Nine times out of ten... But what about the tenth time?"

The Women Who Made Me

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Before Now

The Past is History

Amanda Bradburn

Website of Author and Editor Amanda Bradburn

Daze & Weekes

I'm just a colourful Renaissance woman/human box of wine here to enlighten (and amuse) you.

Today in History

"Tell me a fact, and I'll learn. Tell me a truth, and I'll believe. But tell me a story, and it will live in my heart forever." - Steve Sabol, NFL Films

Miner Descent

Tracing each branch back to their arrival in America

Scoundrels + Saints

Genealogy Gets Real: Stories of the Good, the Bad & Everyone Else

Dusty Roots & Forgotten Treasures

Researching, Preserving, and Sharing Genealogical Information For Future Generations

Tales of a Family

Finding my Way Home

Lives Our Ancestors Left Behind

What were their stories for us?

Lineage Hunter

Exploring Multiple Family Lines

About Those Ancestors

They can hide, but they can't run!

Generations of Nomads

On the Trail of Family Faces, Places, and Stories Around the World

axehandles

how we go on...

GraveSeeker's Diary

“I am the now of the then. My body is the embodiment of all my ancestors who came before me. They live on in me.” ― Jarod Kintz.

Descended from Royalty

Life is lived forward, but understood backward

Filling in the Family Tree

Hopper, Hedrick, Cowan, Hinson, Gray, Hickman, Reece, Perkins and more

Rael & Fernandez Family History

Recording and sharing my journey learning about my ancestors

familytreegirldotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Redeeming Thread

My crazy life adventures that always seem to have one redeeming thread.

Forgotten Ancestors

Tracing The Faces

My Ducks in a Row

using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com to organize your family history

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

Tracking Down The Family

Family History and Genealogy

Shaking the Family Tree

Let the nuts fall where they may.

Quiet Echoes In Time

Thinking Today About Countless Yesterdays

PastToPresentGenealogy

Family History Research by Jane Roberts

The Family Stump

The branches, leaves and stumps of our family tree

A Wise Heart's Journey

Finding ancestors one step at a time.

Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia... go figure

The Lives of my Ancestors

Lives, Biographies and Sketches of my Family History

