Watts-Stark Immigrant Ancestors, pt. 2

watts-stark

We are a nation of immigrants. Most of us descend from others who came to this land whether by their own volition or against their will. With this in mind, I will be documenting all the known immigrant ancestors for both my family and my spouse’s family. This is fourth installment of this series.

***

Now that the Watts immigrants ancestors have been documented in my previous post, let’s move onto the second half of the Watts-Stark line. Next up in my quest to identify my maternal grandfather’s immigrant ancestors is the Stark line.

Like the Watts line, the majority of my Stark immigrant ancestors span back quite a few generations. The most recent immigrant ancestors for my Stark line are John Kelsay, 6th great-grandfather, born 1720 in Northern Ireland; Benjamin Downing, 6th great-grandfather, born 1750 in Wales; and Angel Connell, 6th great-grandfather, born 1754 in County Dublin, Ireland.

Next up are James Stark, 7th great-grandfather (though his son Thomas), born 1695 in Kirkintilloch, Dunbartonshire, Scotland; John Campbell, 7th great grandparents (through their daughter Margaret), born 16 Nov 1674 in Londonderry, Northern Ireland, and his wife Grissel Hay, born 1678 in County Antrim, Northern Ireland; William Fleming, 7th great-grandfather, born 7 Feb 1729 in Jedburgh, Roxburgh, Scotland.

My Campbell progenitors reappear again one generation later: John Campbell, born 16 Nov 1674 in Londonderry, Northern Ireland, and his wife Grissel Hay, born 1678 in County Antrim, Northern Ireland, 8th great-parents (through their son James); and Israel Christian, 8th great-grandfather, born Sep 1712 in Jurby, Isle of Man.

Of my 9th great grandparents, seven are known immigrants: James Stark (though his daughter Elizabeth), born 1695 in Kirkintilloch, Dumbartonshire, Scotland; John Pipkin, born 1650 in Houghton Regis, Bedfordshire, England, and his wife Elizabeth Howe, born 28 Oct 1651 in Houghton Regis, Bedfordshire, England; and William Thornton (through his son Rowland, as well as being my 10th great-grandfather through his son Francis via the Watts line), born about 1620 in Yorkshire, England.

Of my 10th great grandparents, six are known immigrants: John Butler, born 2 Jan 1625 in Ashford, Kent, England, and his wife Mary Lynde, born 1629 in Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England; Nicholas Norton, born about 1610 in Keynsham, Somerset, England and his wife Elizabeth Isaac, born about 1612 in England; and John Rowland, born 1614 in Egham, Surrey, England and his wife Margaret Bailey, born about 1615 in England—via their grandson Rowland Thornton. (Incidentally, John and Margaret (Bailey) Rowland are also my 11th great-grandparents via their grandson, Francis Thornton, my 10th great-grandfather on my Watts side—see previous post.)

Of my 11th great grandparents, eight are known immigrants: Nicholas Butler, born 1590 in Ashford, Kent, England, and his wife Joyce Baker, born 30 May 1602 in Ashford, Kent, England (the parents of John Butler, listed above); Edmund Hawes, born 15 Oct 1612 in Solihull, Warwickshire, England, and his wife Eleanor Lombard, born 1617 in England; Thomas Lynde (the father of Mary Lynde, listed above), born Jan 1594 in Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England, England; Thomas Mayhew, born 31 Mar 1593 in Tisbury, Wiltshire, England; and John Gorham, born 28 Jan 1620 in Benefield, Northamptonshire, England.

However, the earliest know immigrants for the Stark line are also some of the original immigrants to the colonies—four people who arrived on the Mayflower: John Howland, 12th great-grandfather, born 1592 in Fenstanton, Huntingdonshire, England, and his wife Elizabeth Tilley, 12th great-grandmother, born 30 Aug 1607 in Henlow, Bedfordshire, England; John Tilley, 13th great-grandparents (parents of Elizabeth Tilley), born 19 Dec 1571 in Henlow, Bedfordshire, England, and his wife Joan Hurst, born 13 Mar 1567 in Henlow, Bedfordshire, England.

 

StarkFamilyCrest

#ancestry     #familytree     #genealogy     #immigrantancestors

Categories: Immigrant Ancestors, Watts-Stark Line | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Please share your thoughts...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Amazing Ancestors

Portraits and profiles of my family

And the Tenth Time

"Nine times out of ten... But what about the tenth time?"

The Women Who Made Me

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Before Now

The Past is History

Amanda Bradburn

Website of Author and Editor Amanda Bradburn

Daze + Weekes

I'm just a colourful Renaissance woman/human box of wine here to enlighten (and amuse) you.

Today in History

"Tell me a fact, and I'll learn. Tell me a truth, and I'll believe. But tell me a story, and it will live in my heart forever." - Steve Sabol, NFL Films

Miner Descent

Tracing each branch back to their arrival in America

Scoundrels + Saints

Genealogy Gets Real: Stories of the Good, the Bad & Everyone Else

Dusty Roots & Forgotten Treasures

Researching, Preserving, and Sharing Genealogical Information For Future Generations

Tales of a Family

Finding my Way Home

Lives Our Ancestors Left Behind

What were their stories for us?

Lineage Hunter

Exploring Multiple Family Lines

About Those Ancestors

They can hide, but they can't run!

Generations of Nomads

On the Trail of Family Faces, Places, and Stories Around the World

axehandles

how we go on...

GraveSeeker's Diary

“I am the now of the then. My body is the embodiment of all my ancestors who came before me. They live on in me.” ― Jarod Kintz.

Descended from Royalty

Life is lived forward, but understood backward

Filling in the Family Tree

Hopper, Hedrick, Cowan, Hinson, Gray, Hickman, Reece, Perkins and more

Rael & Fernandez Family History

Recording and sharing my journey learning about my ancestors

familytreegirldotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Redeeming Thread

My crazy life adventures that always seem to have one redeeming thread.

Forgotten Ancestors

Tracing The Faces

My Ducks in a Row

using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com to organize your family history

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

Tracking Down The Family

Family History and Genealogy

Shaking the Family Tree

Let the nuts fall where they may.

Quiet Echoes In Time

Thinking Today About Countless Yesterdays

PastToPresentGenealogy

Family History Research by Jane Roberts

Expressing my family history

and other random thoughts...

The Family Stump

The branches, leaves and stumps of our family tree

A Wise Heart's Journey

Finding ancestors one step at a time.

Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia... go figure

