William I “The Lion” of Scotland

On this day, 4 December, in the Year of Our Lord 1214, William I “The Lion” of Scotland, passed away. William I was my two-times 25th great-grandfather through his illegitimate daughter Isabella mac William. He was also the brother of David of Scotland (my two-times 26th great-grandfather), making William I my 27th great-uncle twice over, as well.

William was a headstrong, powerfully built redhead. He was the grandson of David I of Scotland (my 28th great-grandfather) and the son of Henry of Scotland and Ada de Warenne (my 27th great-grandparents).

In 1152, William inherited the title of Earl of Northumbria from his father. However, in 1157, he was forced to give up this title to Henry II Plantagenet, King of England (my 26th great-grandfather through his daughter Eleanor of England, my 24th and 25th great-grandfather through his son John “Lackland” of England, and my 25th great-grandfather through his son William “Longespée”.)

Following the death of William and David’s elder brother King Malcolm IV on 9 December 1165, William became king and was crowned on Christmas Eve 1165. After William I became king, he spent much time and effort trying to regain Northumbria.

In 1173 and 1174, William and others revolted against Henry II. In 1174, at the Battle of Alnwick, William decided to charge the English troops himself. He was unhorsed, captured by Henry’s troops, and taken to Falaise, Normandy. Henry then sent an army to occupy Scotland. To regain his kingdom, William was compelled to sign the Treaty of Falaise, acknowledging Henry as William’s feudal superior and agreeing to pay for the cost of the English army’s occupation of Scotland through taxation of the Scottish denizens. In addition, the church of Scotland was placed under the jurisdiction of the English church. Only after these concessions were made was William permitted to return to Scotland in 1175.

The humiliation of the Treaty of Falaise sparked a revolt in Galloway, lasting until 1186 and prompting the construction of Dumfries Castle. Meanwhile, in 1179, William and his brother David led a force to Easter Ross, establishing two more castles in the hopes of discouraging the Norse Earls of Orkney from expanding beyond Caithness.

For the next 15 years, the Treaty of Falaise was enforced. However, on 5 December 1189, King Richard “Lionheart” of England, needing money for the Third Crusade, terminated the treaty in return of a payment of 10,000 silver marks.

Despite the Scots regaining their independence, relations between England and Scotland remained tense. In 1194, William attempted to purchase Northumbria from Richard; however, William’s offer of 15,000 silver marks was rejected. Then, in August 1209, King John “Lackland” of England (my 24th great-grandfather) strong-armed William into agreeing to marry his elder daughters to English nobles. In 1212, John then secured the hand of William’s only surviving legitimate son and heir, Alexander, for his eldest daughter, Joan.

On 4 December 1214, William I died in Stirling and is buried in Arbroath Abbey, which he had founded in 1178.

#familyhistory     #genealogy    #scottishhistory

Categories: Cole-Marriner Line, Famous Faces and Places, On This Day, Royal Roots, Watts-Stark Line | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “William I “The Lion” of Scotland

  1. I enjoyed reading this, because I have Scottish ancestry on my father’s side of the family. They were a very patriotic lot who reveled in the skirling of the pipes. My maternal grandmother, Myrtle Stephenson, nee’ Mc Bain, named my father William, perhaps in honour of William I, “the Lion” of Scotland. Its a nice thought anyway. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are quite welcome, Yvonne. I am so glad to enjoyed this post. William the Lion was an interesting character, to be sure.

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Amazing Ancestors

Portraits and profiles of my family

And the Tenth Time

"Nine times out of ten... But what about the tenth time?"

The Women Who Made Me

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Before Now

The Past is History

Amanda Bradburn

Website of Author and Editor Amanda Bradburn

Daze + Weekes

I'm just a colourful Renaissance woman/human box of wine here to enlighten (and amuse) you.

Today in History

"Tell me a fact, and I'll learn. Tell me a truth, and I'll believe. But tell me a story, and it will live in my heart forever." - Steve Sabol, NFL Films

Miner Descent

Tracing each branch back to their arrival in America

Scoundrels + Saints

Genealogy Gets Real: Stories of the Good, the Bad & Everyone Else

Dusty Roots & Forgotten Treasures

Researching, Preserving, and Sharing Genealogical Information For Future Generations

Tales of a Family

Finding my Way Home

Lives Our Ancestors Left Behind

What were their stories for us?

Lineage Hunter

Exploring Multiple Family Lines

About Those Ancestors

They can hide, but they can't run!

Generations of Nomads

On the Trail of Family Faces, Places, and Stories Around the World

axehandles

how we go on...

GraveSeeker's Diary

“I am the now of the then. My body is the embodiment of all my ancestors who came before me. They live on in me.” ― Jarod Kintz.

Descended from Royalty

Life is lived forward, but understood backward

Filling in the Family Tree

Hopper, Hedrick, Cowan, Hinson, Gray, Hickman, Reece, Perkins and more

Rael & Fernandez Family History

Recording and sharing my journey learning about my ancestors

familytreegirldotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Redeeming Thread

My crazy life adventures that always seem to have one redeeming thread.

Forgotten Ancestors

Tracing The Faces

My Ducks in a Row

using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com to organize your family history

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

Tracking Down The Family

Family History and Genealogy

Shaking the Family Tree

Let the nuts fall where they may.

Quiet Echoes In Time

Thinking Today About Countless Yesterdays

PastToPresentGenealogy

Family History Research by Jane Roberts

Expressing my family history

and other random thoughts...

The Family Stump

The branches, leaves and stumps of our family tree

A Wise Heart's Journey

Finding ancestors one step at a time.

Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia... go figure

