More Alike Than Unalike

tree-of-hands

Human Family
~by Maya Angelou

…I’ve sailed upon the seven seas
and stopped in every land,
I’ve seen the wonders of the world
not yet one common man…

…I note the obvious differences
between each sort and type,
but we are more alike, my friends,
than we are unalike…

As you might already be aware (from the fact that I have devoted an entire blog to it), I am committed to telling my story by sharing the stories of my predecessors—the people who made me ME.

In a world of 7.4 billion people, it seems we are all trying to identify our own uniqueness. However, instead of highlighting our differences, perhaps we should discover how we are similar to others.

Recently, Ancestry.com posed that very question. Collaborating with Momondo, an international travel company, they surveyed 67 people from around the world, representing a variety of cultures and backgrounds, on how much they know about themselves and from where they descend, as well as how that viewpoint influences the way they perceive others.

These participants were taken on a journey into who they are based on their DNA. What these participants discovered is that they have much more in common with other nationalities and cultures than they might have expected.  (Highlights of those findings were captured in this thought-provoking  video.)

In the end, they discovered that “we are more alike, my friends, than we are unalike.”  Maybe we ALL should take that journey and learn that lesson.

#ancestry     #dna     #humanfamily

Categories: Miscellaneous Musings | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “More Alike Than Unalike

  1. I love family history. It’s always fun knowing I’m not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I quite agree, Lisa. Isn’t it amazing how quickly we feel connected to the world and others just by knowing our history? Thanks for stopping by!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The connections with those who made history who you are descended from is also something fascinating. My spouse certainly got a huge surprise from European royalty to Revolutionary War veterans, Mayflower passengers to French Canadians and Native Americans. Before the research there was only the information from my spouse’s mother, a descendant of Irish immigrants, whom I sadly was not able to find further information on beyond one pair of 3x great-grandparents and not much on them. The paternal lines go back to the 700s. You just never know.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Every time I uncover a “famous” or inspirational ancestor, I am awed that someone like me from very humble beginnings has some illustrious predecessors. Like you said, you just never know. Thankfully, there are plenty of simple folk throughout my tree to keep me grounded. 😉

    As to the “dead end” lines, don’t you just hate those? I have several lines in both my family tree and my spouse’s family tree that stop only a few generations back. Despite my ongoing search for these missing links, I am no closer than I was a decade or two ago. Maybe someday I will discover those hidden kin and be able to take those lines back too…

    Best wishes to you on breaking down those genealogical walls, Aquila!

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Amazing Ancestors

Portraits and profiles of my family

And the Tenth Time

"Nine times out of ten... But what about the tenth time?"

The Women Who Made Me

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Before Now

The Past is History

Amanda Bradburn

Website of Author and Editor Amanda Bradburn

Daze & Weekes

I'm just a colourful Renaissance woman/human box of wine here to enlighten (and amuse) you.

Today in History

"Tell me a fact, and I'll learn. Tell me a truth, and I'll believe. But tell me a story, and it will live in my heart forever." - Steve Sabol, NFL Films

Miner Descent

Tracing each branch back to their arrival in America

Scoundrels + Saints

Genealogy Gets Real: Stories of the Good, the Bad & Everyone Else

Dusty Roots & Forgotten Treasures

Researching, Preserving, and Sharing Genealogical Information For Future Generations

Tales of a Family

Finding my Way Home

Lives Our Ancestors Left Behind

What were their stories for us?

Lineage Hunter

Exploring Multiple Family Lines

About Those Ancestors

They can hide, but they can't run!

Generations of Nomads

On the Trail of Family Faces, Places, and Stories Around the World

axehandles

how we go on...

GraveSeeker's Diary

“I am the now of the then. My body is the embodiment of all my ancestors who came before me. They live on in me.” ― Jarod Kintz.

Descended from Royalty

Life is lived forward, but understood backward

Filling in the Family Tree

Hopper, Hedrick, Cowan, Hinson, Gray, Hickman, Reece, Perkins and more

Rael & Fernandez Family History

Recording and sharing my journey learning about my ancestors

familytreegirldotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Redeeming Thread

My crazy life adventures that always seem to have one redeeming thread.

Forgotten Ancestors

Tracing The Faces

My Ducks in a Row

using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com to organize your family history

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

Tracking Down The Family

Family History and Genealogy

Shaking the Family Tree

Let the nuts fall where they may.

Quiet Echoes In Time

Thinking Today About Countless Yesterdays

PastToPresentGenealogy

Family History Research by Jane Roberts

Expressing my family history

and other random thoughts...

The Family Stump

The branches, leaves and stumps of our family tree

A Wise Heart's Journey

Finding ancestors one step at a time.

Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia... go figure

