William de Longespée and Joan of Valois

On this day, 7 March, in the year 1226, William de Longespée, 3rd Earl of Salisbury, died in Salisbury, England.  He was my 24th great-grandfather through his son William II Longespée and my 25th great-grandfather through his son Stephen Longespée.

Circa 1176, William de Longespée was born. He was the illegitimate son of Henry II and  Ida de Tosny, who married Roger Bigod, 2nd Earl of Norfolk  (my 26th great-grandfather through their son Hugh) in 1181.

In 1188, Henry II acknowledged William as his son. He gave William de Longespée the honor of Appleby, Lincolnshire and granted him the use of the coat of arms of his grandfather, Geoffrey IV of Anjou.

In 1196, William de Longespée married Ela of Salisbury, 3rd Countess of Salisbury. Together, they had the following children: William II (my 23rd great-grandfather), Richard, Stephen (my 24th great-grandfather), Nicholas, Isabella, Petronilla, Ela, Ida, Ida II, Mary, and Pernel.

William de Longespée was at court on several important ceremonial occasions and held various offices, including constable of Dover, sheriff of Wiltshire (1199–1202, 1203–07, 1213–26), lieutenant of Gascony (1202), warden of the Cinque Ports (1204–06), honor of Eye (1205), warden of the Welsh Marches (1208), and sheriff of Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire (1212–16).

William de Longespée was sent on missions to France in 1202 and to Germany in 1209. In 1213 through 1214.

William de Longespée organized Flemish allies on behalf of his half-brother John “Lackland” of England (my 24th great-grandfather). In 1213, William de Longespée, along with these allies, took part in the destruction of the French fleet at the port of Bruges, Belgium.

On 27 July 1214, at the Battle of Bouvines, William de Longespée, one of the leaders of the allied army, was captured and held prisoner. William de Longespée was exchanged for Robert III de Dreux (my 26th great-grandfather).

By May 1215, William de Longespée had returned to England, where he was employed by John “Lackland” of England to inspect the defenses of royal castles and to fight the rebels in the southwest.

In May 1216, William de Longespée deserted John “Lackland” of England after the landing of Louis VIII of France (my 24th great-grandfather through his son Robert I and my 25th great-grandfather through his son Louis IX). However, by March 1217, William de Longespée had returned to royal allegiance, fighting at Lincoln in May and Sandwich in August and attesting the Treaty of Lambeth in September 1217.

During the young reign of Henry III (my 23rd great-grandfather through his grandson Edward II, my three-times 25th great-grandfather through his granddaughter Joan, my 23rd great-grandfather through his grandson Edmund, and my both 24th and 25th great-grandfather through his grandson Henry of Lancaster), William de Longespée fought in Wales in 1223 and in Gascony in 1225.

William de Longespée and his wife were benefactors of Salisbury Cathedral and laid foundation stones of the new cathedral in 1220.

On 7 March 1226, William de Longespée died and was buried in Salisbury Cathedral; his effigy still survives.


Also on this day, 7 March, in the year 1342, Joan of Valois, Countess of Hainault, died. She was my 22nd great-grandmother through her grandson Thomas of Woodstock, my 23rd great-grandmother through her grandson Lionel of Antwerp, my two-times 20th great-grandmother through her grandson John of Gaunt, and my 20th great-grandmother through her grandson Edmund of Langley.

Born circa 1294, Joan of Valois was the second eldest daughter of Charles of Valois and Margaret of Anjou.

On 23 May 1305, Joan of Valois married William I of Hainault.

Together, William I of Hainault and Joan of Valois had the following children: William II, John, Margaret, Philippa (my 21st great-grandmother through Thomas of Woodstock, my 22nd great-grandmother through Lionel of Antwerp, my two-times 19th great-grandmother through John of Gaunt, and my 19th great-grandmother through Edmund of Langley), Agnes, Joanna, Isabella, and Louis.

Joan of Valois supported her cousin Isabella of France (my 22nd great-grandmother) in her struggle against her husband Edward II (my 22nd great-grandfather). In December 1325, Joan of Valois traveled to France to attend the funeral of her father. While in France, Joan of Valois spoke at length with Isabella and her brother, Charles IV. An alliance was formed between those in opposition to Edward II and his favorite, Hugh le Despenser “The Younger” (my 22nd great-grandfather). During this time, Isabella and Roger Mortimer (my 21st great-grandfather) finalized their plans to invade England.

On 7 June 1337, William I of Hainault passed away. Soon after her husband passed away, Joan of Valois took the veil, entering Fontenelle Abbey.

In 1340, Joan of Valois’ son-in-law Edward III defeated her brother Philip IV of France (my 22nd great-grandfather) at sea near Sluys, Belgium. Edward III then besieged Tournai, Belgium. Pope Benedict XII requested that Joan of Valois mediate. Joan of Valois first pleaded for peace from Philip VI. She then visited Edward III, begging for pace. Her pleas and the Pope’s intercession resulted a signed truce with no loss of honor on either part.

On 7 March 1342, Joan of Valois died at the Fontenelle Abbey, Maing, France (which is no longer standing, see left.)

#englishhistory    #familyhistory     #frenchhistory

Categories: Famous Faces and Places, On This Day, Royal Roots, Watts-Stark Line | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “William de Longespée and Joan of Valois

  1. Love this! It’s so fascinating how your ancestry intertwines. I’m also descended from William de Longspee II, through his daughter Ela Longespée who married James De Audley (1220–1272), of Heleigh Castle, Staffordshire, son of Henry De Audley and Bertred Mainwaring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How awesome is that, Amanda! I too descend from William II’s daughter Ela Longespée and James de Audley through their son Hugh I de Audley. He and his wife Isolde de Mortimer had Hugh II de Audley (my 21st great-grandfather) and Alice Audley (my 20th great-grandmother).

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

And the Tenth Time

"Nine times out of ten... But what about the tenth time?"

The Women Who Made Me

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Before Now

The Past is History

Amanda Bradburn

Website of Author and Editor Amanda Bradburn

Daze & Weekes

I'm just a colourful Renaissance woman/human box of wine here to enlighten (and amuse) you.

Today in History

"Tell me a fact, and I'll learn. Tell me a truth, and I'll believe. But tell me a story, and it will live in my heart forever." - Steve Sabol, NFL Films

Miner Descent

Tracing each branch back to their arrival in America

Scoundrels + Saints

Genealogy Gets Real: Stories of the Good, the Bad & Everyone Else

Dusty Roots & Forgotten Treasures

Researching, Preserving, and Sharing Genealogical Information For Future Generations

Tales of a Family

Finding my Way Home

Lives Our Ancestors Left Behind

What were their stories for us?

Lineage Hunter

Exploring Multiple Family Lines

About Those Ancestors

They can hide, but they can't run!

Generations of Nomads

On the Trail of Family Faces, Places, and Stories Around the World

Horses Dirt and Motherhood

This Life of Mine with 9

axehandles

how we go on...

GraveSeeker's Diary

“I am the now of the then. My body is the embodiment of all my ancestors who came before me. They live on in me.” ― Jarod Kintz.

Descended from Royalty

Life is lived forward, but understood backward

Filling in the Family Tree

Hopper, Hedrick, Cowan, Hinson, Gray, Hickman, Reece, Perkins and more

Rael & Fernandez Family History

Recording and sharing my journey learning about my ancestors

familytreegirldotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Redeeming Thread

My crazy life adventures that always seem to have one redeeming thread.

Forgotten Ancestors

Tracing The Faces

My Ducks in a Row

using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com to organize your family history

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

The Genealogist's Craft

My aim is to tell interesting stories of how genealogical information comes to be. Please pull up an armchair ...

Tracking Down The Family

Family History and Genealogy

The Handwritten Past

Thoughts on Family History and Genealogy

Shaking the Family Tree

Let the nuts fall where they may.

Quiet Echoes In Time

Thinking Today About Countless Yesterdays

PastToPresentGenealogy

Family History Research by Jane Roberts

Expressing my family history

and other random thoughts...

The Family Stump

The branches, leaves and stumps of our family tree

A Wise Heart's Journey

Finding ancestors one step at a time.

