Order of the Garter

On this day, 23 April, in the year of our Lord 1348, the Most Noble Order of the Garter, the highest order of chivalry and the third most prestigious honor in the United Kingdom, was founded. The Order is dedicated to Saint George, England’s patron saint.

The Order’s emblem is a garter with the motto “Honi soit qui mal y pense.”—”Shame on him who thinks evil of it.” Members of the order wear this emblem on ceremonial occasions.

At the time of its foundation, the Order consisted of King Edward III, together with 25 founder knights, listed in ascending order of stall number in St. George’s Chapel. They are all depicted in individual portraits in the Bruges Garter Book, circa 1431.

Listed below are my ancestors who founded or were inducted into the Order of the Garter:


FOUNDING MONARCH

Edward III of England (my 21st great-grandfather through his son Thomas of Woodstock, my 22nd great-grandfather through his son Lionel of Antwerp of Clarence, my three-times 19th and three-times 20th great-grandfather through his son John of Gaunt, and my 20th great-grandfather through his son Edmund of Langley)


FOUNDING KNIGHTS (in order of induction)

#3Thomas Beauchamp, 11th Earl of Warwick (my 20th great-grandfather through his son Thomas de Beauchamp and my 21st great-grandfather through his daughter Philippa de Beauchamp)

#5,  Ralph de Stafford, 1st Earl of Stafford, 2nd Baron Stafford (my 20th great-grandfather through his daughter Margaret de Stafford, my 21st great-grandfather through his daughter Jane de Stafford, and my 21st great-grandfather through his son Hugh Stafford)

#7,  Roger Mortimer, 2nd Earl of March (my 21st great-grandfather through his son Edmund de Mortimer)

#9, Bartholomew de Burghersh, 2nd Baron Burghersh (my 21st great-grandfather through his daughter Elizabeth de Burghersh)

#13, Thomas Holland, 1st Earl of Kent, 2nd Baron Holand (my 20th great-grandfather through his son Thomas Holland)


OTHER GARTER MEMBERS (in order of induction)

#28, William de Bohun, 1st Earl of Northampton (my 22nd great-grandfather through his son Humphrey de Bohun)

#35, Lionel of Antwerp, 1st Duke of Clarence, jure uxoris 4th Earl of Ulster, 5th Baron of Connaught (my 21st great-grandfather through his daughter Philippa of Clarence)

#36, John of Gaunt, 1st Duke of Lancaster (my 19th and my 20th great-grandfather through both his son John Beaufort and my 19th and two-times 20th great-grandfather through his daughter Joan Beaufort)

#37, Edmund of Langley, 1st Duke of York (my 19th great-grandfather through his son Richard of Conisburgh of Cambridge and my 20th great-grandfather through his daughter Constance of York)

#38, Edward le Despenser, 1st Baron le Despencer (my 20th great-grandfather through his son Thomas le Despenser)

#46, John Neville, 3rd Baron Neville de Raby (my 19th great-grandfather through his son Ralph Neville)

#57, Hugh Stafford, 2nd Earl of Stafford (my 20th great-grandfather through his son Edmund Stafford)

#58, Thomas Holland, 2nd Earl of Kent, 3rd Baron Holand (my 19th great-grandfather through his daughter Margaret Holland, my 20th great-grandfather through his daughter Alianore Holland, and my 20th great-grandfather through his daughter Eleanor Holland)

#66, Thomas of Woodstock, 1st Duke of Gloucester, 1st Earl of Buckingham, 1st Earl of Essex (my 20th great-grandfather through his daughter Anne of Gloucester)

#80, Thomas le Despenser, 1st Earl of Gloucester, 2nd Baron le Despencer (my 19th great-grandfather through his daughter Isabel le Despenser)

#87, John Beaufort, 1st Earl of Somerset (my 18th great-grandfather through his daughter Joan and my 19th great-grandfather through his son Edmund)

#89, John Montagu, 3rd Earl of Salisbury, 5th Baron Montagu (my 20th great-grandfather through his son Thomas Montagu)

#99, Richard Beauchamp, 13th Earl of Warwick, Count of Aumale (my 18th great-grandfather through his daughter Anne Beauchamp and my 19th great-grandfather through his daughter Eleanor Beauchamp)

#104, Edmund Stafford, 5th Earl of Stafford, 6th Baron Audley (my 19th great-grandfather through his son Humphrey Stafford)

#105, Ralph Neville, 1st Earl of Westmorland, 4th Baron Neville de Raby (my 18th great-grandfather through his daughter Cecily Neville, my 19th great-grandfather through his son Richard Neville, and my 19th great-grandfather through his daughter Anne Neville)

#109, John Stanley, King of Mann, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland (my 19th great-grandfather through his son John Stanley)

#121, Thomas Montagu, 4th Earl of Salisbury, 6th Baron Montagu, 5th Baron Monthermer, Count of Perche (my 19th great-grandfather through his daughter Alice Montagu)

#145, Humphrey Stafford, 1st Duke of Buckingham, 6th Earl of Stafford (my 18th great-grandfather through his son Humphrey Stafford)

#148, Richard Plantagenet, 3rd Duke of York (my 17th great-grandfather through his son George Plantagenet)

#150, Edmund Beaufort, 2nd Duke of Somerset (my 18th great-grandfather through his daughter Margaret Beaufort)

#152, Richard Neville, 5th Earl of Salisbury (my 18th great-grandfather through his son Richard Neville)

#174, Thomas Stanley, 1st Baron Stanley (my 17th great-grandfather through his daughter Catherine Stanley)

#185, George Plantagenet, Duke of Clarence (my 16th great-grandfather through his daughter Margaret Plantagenet)

#211, Henry Stafford, 2nd Duke of Buckingham (my 16th great-grandfather through his son Edward Stafford)

#248, Edward Stafford, 3rd Duke of Buckingham (my 15th great-grandfather through his son Henry Stafford)

#253, Richard Pole (my 15th great-grandfather through his daughter Ursula Pole)


LADIES OF THE GARTER (in order of induction)

  • Philippa of Hainault, Queen Consort of England (my 21st great-grandmother through her son Thomas of Woodstock, my 22nd great-grandmother through her son Lionel of Antwerp of Clarence, my three-times 19th and three-times 20th great-grandmother through her son John of Gaunt, and my 20th great-grandmother through her son Edmund of Langley)
  • Isabella di Castile, Duchess of York (my 19th great-grandmother through her son Richard of Conisburgh of Cambridge and my 20th great-grandmother through her daughter Constance of York)
  • Eleanor de Bohun, Countess of Essex, Countess of Buckingham, Duchess of Gloucester, Duchess of Aumale (my 20th great-grandmother through her daughter Anne of Gloucester)
  • Constance of York, Countess of Gloucester, Baroness le Despencer (my 19th great-grandmother through her daughter Isabel le Despenser)
  • Katherine de Roet, Duchess of Lancaster (my 19th and my 20th great-grandmother through both her son John Beaufort and my 19th and two-times 20th great-grandmother through her daughter Joan Beaufort)
  • Alice FitzAlan, Countess of Kent (my 19th great-grandmother through her daughter Margaret Holland, my 20th great-grandmother through her daughter Alianore Holland, and my 20th great-grandmother through her daughter Eleanor Holland)
  • Margaret Holland, Countess of Somerset, Duchess of Clarence (my 18th great-grandmother through her daughter Joan Beaufort and my 19th great-grandmother through her son Edmund Beaufort)
  • Joan Beaufort, Countess of Westmorland (my 18th great-grandmother through her daughter Cecily Neville, my 19th great-grandmother through her son Richard Neville, and my 19th great-grandmother through her daughter Anne Neville)
  • Maud Francis, Countess of Salisbury (my 20th great-grandmother through her son Thomas Montagu)
  • Isabel le Despenser, Countess of Worcester and Warwick (my 18th great-grandmother through her daughter Anne Beauchamp)

#englishhistory     #familyhistory     #genealogy

Categories: Cole-Marriner Line, Famous Faces and Places, On This Day, Royal Roots, Watts-Stark Line | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Order of the Garter

  1. That list is almost like a list of my family tree. So many of them are interrelated, as we are.

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Amazing Ancestors

Portraits and profiles of my family

And the Tenth Time

"Nine times out of ten... But what about the tenth time?"

The Women Who Made Me

Finding the extraordinary in the ordinary

Before Now

The Past is History

Amanda Bradburn

Website of Author and Editor Amanda Bradburn

Daze & Weekes

I'm just a colourful Renaissance woman/human box of wine here to enlighten (and amuse) you.

Today in History

"Tell me a fact, and I'll learn. Tell me a truth, and I'll believe. But tell me a story, and it will live in my heart forever." - Steve Sabol, NFL Films

Miner Descent

Tracing each branch back to their arrival in America

Scoundrels + Saints

Genealogy Gets Real: Stories of the Good, the Bad & Everyone Else

Dusty Roots & Forgotten Treasures

Researching, Preserving, and Sharing Genealogical Information For Future Generations

Tales of a Family

Finding my Way Home

Lives Our Ancestors Left Behind

What were their stories for us?

Lineage Hunter

Exploring Multiple Family Lines

About Those Ancestors

They can hide, but they can't run!

Generations of Nomads

On the Trail of Family Faces, Places, and Stories Around the World

axehandles

how we go on...

GraveSeeker's Diary

“I am the now of the then. My body is the embodiment of all my ancestors who came before me. They live on in me.” ― Jarod Kintz.

Descended from Royalty

Life is lived forward, but understood backward

Filling in the Family Tree

Hopper, Hedrick, Cowan, Hinson, Gray, Hickman, Reece, Perkins and more

Rael & Fernandez Family History

Recording and sharing my journey learning about my ancestors

familytreegirldotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Redeeming Thread

My crazy life adventures that always seem to have one redeeming thread.

Forgotten Ancestors

Tracing The Faces

My Ducks in a Row

using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com to organize your family history

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

Tracking Down The Family

Family History and Genealogy

Shaking the Family Tree

Let the nuts fall where they may.

Quiet Echoes In Time

Thinking Today About Countless Yesterdays

PastToPresentGenealogy

Family History Research by Jane Roberts

The Family Stump

The branches, leaves and stumps of our family tree

A Wise Heart's Journey

Finding ancestors one step at a time.

Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia... go figure

The Lives of my Ancestors

Lives, Biographies and Sketches of my Family History

